Martinvast CastleA medieval castle in the Cotentin



A medieval castle in the Cotentin


plan-parc-martinvast-1842__
The castle as it stands today reflects the history of the estate. Its current appearance is the result of numerous transformations over the centuries. Only a small part of the medieval castle remains today.

A new castle was built during the sixth and seventh religious wars, at the end of the 16th century, by Bartole du Moncel (seventh generation of the lords of Martinvast), likely between 1579 and 1581.

Subsequently, pavilions were constructed at the ends of this new castle, characterized by high, sloped roofs. The overall composition is symmetrical.

Few works seem to have been carried out on the castle during the 17th and 18th centuries. Construction efforts were more likely focused on the outbuildings. Part of the moat was drained to the south and east.

When Alexandre du Moncel inherited the castle in 1820, he found a building in very poor condition. He demolished the old structures connecting the castle to the old medieval tower and built four round towers at the corners of the two pavilions.
In 1867, the new owner, Arthur de Schickler, undertook major works that transformed the castle's appearance. He reworked the existing facades and built a new wing connecting to the keep in a style known as "Gothic Revival".
 

On January 14, 1944, and May 8, 1944, the castle, which housed significant German military general staff, was targeted by heavy Allied bombings. The castle's wing caught fire due to the bombs and to the large stockpile of ammunition stored in the basements.
Damaged by the fire, the south wing was partially destroyed, but its facades held. Deemed dangerous by the Ministry, it was demolished. Only the gallery and its arches remain visible today.

Post-war efforts focused on securing and preserving the monument.
From 1967, Count Christian de Pourtalès, the owner, continued the restoration of the building.

The castle's facades and roofs were listed in the regional Inventory of Historical Monuments in April 1976 and in 1992.

Back to Top